Some things are best left to professionals…

Anyone who has spent any amount of time on Pinterest undoubtedly has seen posts for easy DIY cushions….being the frugal gal that I am, I decided to recover the dinette cushions myself. Now I have sewn for years – mostly garments, but I’ve also dabbled in home decor. Well, perhaps it was more of a speckle….I made the bedding for my daughter’s room….baby room, that is…some 25yrs ago!

Anxious to see something new in Lucille other than linens, I ventured into the land of high density foam and fabric! The existing cushion foam was…well…yucky…and frankly a bit smelly. I read tales of folks attempting to clean dinette cushions and the results were less than appealing.

A few weeks ago I coerced my daughter to go with me to Hobby Lobby…we (she) found the perfect fabric! Mind you, I thought I’d found the perfect fabric weeks earlier, but I discovered she was only placating me…I must admit, I’m much happier with the final selection – similar colors, but much brighter

20130526-173652.jpg
That was weeks ago! I had the fabric but needed piping, so off I went to JoAnn Fabrics – as luck would have it, they had foam on sale (that stuff is pricey!) so I bit the bullet and purchased enough to completely redo seats & backs….about the backs….they’re arched….the lady at JoAnn’s made cutting the foam look so easy – it wasn’t! At least not with the cheap electric knife I bought…it was not even AT ALL…trying not to panic at the thought of throwing away $75 (did I mention foam is pricey?)…I did what any frugal gal would do…IMPROVISE! Originally, I was going to fill in the unevenness with batting & top with 1″ foam….as it turns out, the 1″ roll of foam was pretty pricey too…that’s when I discovered Smart Foam – it’s like a foam/batting blend – the picture below isn’t the best angle, but you can see where it evens out my poor trim job…and yes, it really is even now..

20130526-200752.jpg
I’m starting with the seats first to get the hang of things – the chevron is stamped not woven, which means it wasn’t really straight – I cut a strip long enough to allow proper alignment on the cushion. One of the posts I saw recommended placing the fabric on the foam and then pinning the piping to the fabric – I sort of followed that logic, but pinned and/or penciled a basting line first

20130526-200029.jpg
and followed with stitching – once the basting stitch was in place, I pinned the piping & the basted it as well

20130526-200846.jpg
Once the piping was basted I pinned the side strips – I recycled the zippers from the original cushions, but it’s still a chore to get it over the foam!

20130526-201143.jpg
If I were at the beginning again, I may very well have opted to have them done professionally. It’s far from perfect, but I think they’ll do just fine…one down…three to go!

One thought on “Some things are best left to professionals…

Leave a Reply

